Patient Testimonials

Submit your testimonial

Sep 14, 2017

I am a firefighter and participate in numerous sports and activities.

I would like to thank Dr. Gerlinger and his staff at Rush for their dedication to helping people get their lives back. The arthritis in my knees prevented me doing doing the things I enjoyed most and I was no longer able to run and play sports with my young children. My wife and I decided it was time to fix the problem so we reached out to the staff at Rush. We chose Dr. Gerlinger because of his experience in the military helping soldiers return to work after knee and hip replacements. After talking to him I was confident that I would be able to return to my job as a firefighter and run with my children. It has been four months (the knees were repaired six weeks apart) and the recovery is going very well. I will be back to work soon and my children are counting the days until we can race again. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff gave me my legs back and I will be forever grateful.

-Darren B


Oct 26, 2017

Regan

That dot in red is me hiking in West Cork, Ireland in August. I was there for a month and hiked everyday that it wasn’t raining.

Very grateful for my new knees.

-Regan B


Sep 14, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger is the best, he did a revision on a knee that wasn't healing correctly that my first surgeon had wased his hands of. I was walking better in 4 months after second surgery than 2 years after the first.

His staff is first rate. Alissa always responds quickly even on nights and weekends. Highly recommend him and Rush hospital for your replacement surgery.

-Philip W


Sep 07, 2017

My knee surgery was complicated -- a knee revision and then a bone graft to save my tibia, which had a large hole in it. Dr. Gerlinger was honest with me about the surgery since he wouldn't be able to say exactly what had to be done until he was operating. It was possible that the tibia would not stay together during the graft and insertion of a long rod. Because of Dr. Gerlinger's skill and careful surgical technique, I am walking and have my life back again. What an exceptional surgeon!

-Susan Z in Sycamore, IL


Aug 18, 2017

I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger for hip replacement surgery. My surgery was pain free with a quick rehabiliation. I have nothing but high praise for his competence.

-Walter C in Ft Wayne, IN


Aug 05, 2017

I'm 3 weeks post-op and feeling pretty awesome. The entire experience from pre-op to yesterday's check-up have been great, totally professional. If you're having hip surgery, Dr. G. is the man to see.

-HB in Chicago, IL


Aug 03, 2017

I had my right hip replaced on June 22, 2017 and the entire team of Dr Gerlinger was as professional and pleasant as you can be. From the first visit for evaluation to my 6 week post op visit the entire team at Rush was a delight to experience and get to know. Everyone was outstanding from every aspect. I would highly recommend them and have already to a good friend of mine. Thank you to Doctor G, Alissa and the entire team. You guys are the best of the best. Well done.

-Tom B in Chicago, IL


Jul 16, 2017

Total hip replacement went as smooth as silk. Dr Gerlinger and staff run as smooth as clockwork. I'll be coming back for the other hip and knees when they're ready. No question.

-Mike M in Herscher, IL


Jun 08, 2017

With Dr. Gerlinger's encouragement, I had total hip replacement surgery at 50. I can return to an active lifestyle (skiing, golf, hockey) at a time in my life when I can still enjoy these activities. Glad I didn't wait until I was more "age appropriate" for this procedure. Recovery from surgery has been a breeze. Never used crutches or cane after day one. PT begins immediately. Out of work for only one week, off pain meds within two weeks, return to normal activities within six weeks.

-Andy in Chicago, IL


May 18, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his entire team were skilled, professional, patient, and caring throughout my entire left hip replacement experience. I was always provided with personal and prompt attention to my concerns. I highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger. You won't be sorry. I'm grateful.

-Bernadette I in Chicago, IL


May 12, 2017

I am 45 years old and have had 7 surgeries on my right knee! I have seen my fair share of Orthopedic Surgeons and Dr. Gerlinger is by far one of the most skilled caring doctors I have encountered in a very long time! I had my knee replaced last year and went in for my year check up. The care I received from Dr. Gerlinger and his team was beyond Exceptional!!!!!!

-San Jose, CA


May 06, 2017

2 hip replacements w/in 6 weeks. easy bike riding and dirt road walking 6 weeks after 2nd. all good.

-Las Vegas, NV


May 03, 2017

Hello my is Marisela Kennedy and my experience with Dr. Gerlinger was awesome. I had surgery on my left hip, last December. Prior to the surgery, I was in horrible pain,in my hip due to arthritis. My pain affected work,and all activities. One month after the surgery I was walking without pain. I went back to work 2 months after the surgery. I never imagined that I would be pain free. I'm So thankful and blessed that Dr Berlinger performed the surgery.The whole experience was beautiful. God Bless

-Marisela K in Oak lawn Illinois


Apr 28, 2017

Excellent doctor! Partial knee replacement, no pain, fast recovery! Doing all my activities after 3 1/2 weeks with no pain, stiffness or limp!! Great staff. Would recommend Dr. Gerlinger to everyone!!

-Lisle, IL


Apr 13, 2017

A really nice caring doctor. He was there for my wife.

-Arlene F in New Buffalo, MI


Mar 16, 2017

I've had three full knee replacements, two more to change a liner in my knee, dr gerlinger just changed the lower portion of my knee replacement so he did a revision .he is very good at what he does and I would not want another doctor .i.ve been going to these doctors for about 17 years and now that I have dr gerlinger ,he is the best at all he does but for my revision he did tremendous. great doctor that cares

-Larry F in wheatfield, IN


Mar 06, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his team could not be better!! I have researched & visited 3 other Orthopedic Facilities and by far Rush & Dr. G & Team treated me with the utmost respect & expertise. From my 1st consult through post knee replacement surgery I was given explicit answers to all questions that I asked over & over. Their kindness & understanding of my fears & how well I was treated before & after surgery was incredible. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. G for his extreme expertise as a surgeon!! THX U

-Crystal Lake, IL


Mar 02, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger performed both of my total knee replacements about a year apart. Before having this done, I could barely walk due to severe arthritis. Today, I am pain free and have two very straight legs and can bend and flex my knees as never before. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are very personable yet very professional. His assistant, Kate, explained the surgery in depth so that I would be comfortable with what was to be performed. The entire staff at Rush Medical Center were great as well.

-Vickie W in Riverdale, IL


Feb 27, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are the best. I had a difficult situation and couldn't be more happy with my total knee replacement!!!

-Marianne in Palos Park


Feb 25, 2017

Dr Gerlinger performed a complete knee replacement on my left knee 6 weeks ago. The incision was minimal and the recovery has been much faster than the recovery I experienced on my right knee replacement six years ago. I was walking without any assistive devices within 2 weeks and no limp after 3 weeks. At the 5-6 week mark of PT I could bend the knee 120 degrees. Dr Gerlinger's staff was completely accessible, professional and courteous throughout the entire experience.

-Tom H in Burr Ridge, IL


Feb 08, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff were fantastic. I was in need of a new left knee and even though I'm a Michigan resident, I decided to stay with Midwest Ortho who in turn put me in contact with Dr. Gerlinger. We discussed options and quickly came to the conclusion that it was time for a new knee after years of surgeries, shots, etc. He studied the nuances of my case and did an oustanding job. He's accessible and explains everything. His staff is absolutely first class as well!!

-Ed H in Marcellus, M


Feb 08, 2017

I can't say enough good about my experience with Dr. Gerlinger and his staff. I was a reluctant patient; hoping that the pain in my hip would eventually go away, and heal itself. He offered council and a logic explanation that my hip wasn't going to miraculously correct itself. His demeanor was very respectful and matter of fact; of which, exactly what I needed to finally pull the trigger and get my life back.

-Downers G, IL


Feb 02, 2017

I had a very good experience with Dr. Gerlinger. I'd highly recommend him.

-St John, IN


Jan 16, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush are top notch. I was quite concerned about having any form of surgery. Regardless, with quality of life being my strongest motivating desire the explanations presented to me about my condition assured me I was in good hands. I am so glad to have found Dr. Gerlinger and his staff.

-RCTwo in St Charles, IL


Jan 12, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his team are outstanding. From my initial visit to my year follow-up appointment after having total hip replacement surgery was nothing less than efficient, professional, painless, and overall a great experience. His team is professional, knowledgeable, responsive, and pretty much an extension of Dr. G, Kate his head nurse is phenomenal. Rush was amazing, and the overall experience was flawless. The team approach is wonderful. His team is topnotch. Thank you!!!

-Maria T in Chicago, IL


Dec 28, 2016

Dr Gerlinger accepted my complicated knee surgery when 2 other surgeons would not. He is so caring and patient and far exceeded even my most hopeful expectations. He has an amazing staff, in particular Kate who helped me with all my paperwork and always followed up the same day. I have had several surgeries in the past, but never had the follow up that Dr Gerlinger and his team provides. I received so many texts answering questions and offering encouragement. I highly recommend!

-Mary E B in Woodridge


Dec 22, 2016

The best: compassionate, caring professional whose staff made it possible for me to get the hip replacement sooner than anticipated.

-Chicago, IL


Sep 15, 2016

A top surgeon in the Chicagoland area. Dr. Gerlinger lays out all the options to you and its your choice. He will give his recommendation. Extremely satisfied with Dr. Gerlinger and his fantastic staff. Keep up the good work.

-Glenn H in Dyer, IN


Aug 20, 2016

After two failed hip replacements, I called Dr. Gerlinger for an appointment. From the very beginning his whole staff was friendly, courteous, and first rate. He spent the time and reviewed my case thoroughly and let me know what to expect from the surgery. After three weeks, I'm ready to throw that walker away. Thank you Dr. Gerlinger and your staff

- SM in Valparaiso, IN


Aug 18, 2016

I received excellent from a highly skilled surgeon.

- MN. in Chicago, IL


Aug 03, 2016

Dr Gerlinger did my hip replacement 4 weeks ago. I found Dr. Gerlinger and his staff very genuine and caring. I was able to go home the day of my surgery and sleep in my own bed. Everything is going great. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger. I have more surgeries to come and I know who my surgeon will be.

- JO in Chicago, IL


Jul 22, 2016

Great surgeon. The job he did on my knee replacement was excellent. I left the hospital the next day, and didn't need crutches after 3 days. After 6 weeks, I have all normal movements with no pain.

- RW in Chicago, IL


Jul 22, 2016

Excellent staff....excellent surgeon....excellent courtesy!

- CF in Frankfort, IL


Jul 12, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger is a great surgeon. I am writing this review 8 weeks post surgery. I have almost no scar and my knee is healing well after total knee replacement surgery. Expect that you will be stiff and need to exercise your knee for 6 months to a year. I would recommend Dr. Gerlinger to anyone considering this surgery. The rest of the staff and hospital (Rush) were great. A bit of advise: research physical therapy.

- LP in Berwyn, IL


Jul 08, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger is the best at what he does. I would not trust anyone else. Had 2 knee replacements this year, one in January and one in May. The results are amazing! Last year I couldn't walk a block, and now after just six weeks of the surgery I'm walking miles! My only regret, I should have done it years ago!

- PI in Steger, IL


Dr. Gerlinger did my Total Knee Replacement 7 weeks ago. I am only 45 years old and have had many issues and 6 other surgeries on my knee. Dr. Gerlinger was professional, Caring and has a great bed side manner. At 7 weeks I am back to normal activities and I'm very grateful that I chose him as my doctor.

Jun 24, 2016

- CM in Lake Villa, IL


Jun 03, 2016

He was patient and kind, soft spoken and answered all my preop questions. Made me feel like I was part of the Rush family. The Rush team was just awesome and everything he told me I would be able to do WITHOUT PAIN was spot on. Loved the text messages daily during rehab just to give positive enforcement at home with the PT. Can't wait to see where I will be in 12 weeks post op, back to gardening, tying my gym shoes and walking without a limp. Thanks so much for the new hip. I recommend.

- KL in Palos Heights, IL


May 25, 2016

I could not be more satisfied with my experience and outcome of my hip replacement surgery performed by Dr. Gerlinger.

- T in Illinois


May 19, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger was attentive and thorough in answering all my questions without rushing me. I was in a great deal of pain before having a total hip replacement surgery performed by Dr. Gerlinger. Now, six weeks post surgery, I can walk pain free and no limp. I feel the quality of my life will be greatly improved by this surgery and I am very grateful to Dr. Gerlinger for giving me back my mobility.

- LG in Chicago, IL


Apr 22, 2016

No outcome can be completely guaranteed but what he said is exactly what happened and I'm completely satisfied. If I had to have a hip replacement again Dr. Gerlinger you're my only choice.

- CW in Bellwood, IL


Mar 14, 2016

This is feedback of highest praise for Dr. Gerlinger and his team at Rush Hospital in Chicago! My experience from preop to at home therapy was well coordinated throughout the process with excellent results for me.. Kudos to Dr. Gerllinger! Thank you!

- JT in Chicago, Il


Feb 10, 2016

Great hip replacement experience! I'm 64 and I thought about going to a rehab facility because we have a number of stairs and I didn't think my husband could handle taking care of me. Dr Gerlinger said, hips just work - if you can do stairs before surgery, you can do stairs when you go home. I found it hard to believe, but he was right! No problems. Quick recovery. Low pain level. Much different experience than my younger brother who had a different Doctor. I would highly recommend him.

- D in Chicago, IL


Vitals.com - Patient Comments