Click here to Self-Schedule an Appointment



Patient Testimonials

Submit your testimonial

Jul 27, 2022

A+ for this Doc. Pay’s good attention to details.

- From Google reviews


Jul 16, 2022

I have no complaints. So far so good. Cannot wait for next Friday.

- From Google reviews


Jul 15, 2022

I cannot say enough great things about Dr. Gerlinger and his team! I am in the medical field and I have been so impressed with my whole surgical experience and how all my appointments have run so smoothly! What a wonderful practice! I would also like to add that the daily texts from Dr. Gerlinger following my surgery was incredibly helpful and uplifting!!!

- From Google reviews


Jul 12, 2022

The best surgical experience ever! Dr Gerlinger 's nutrition program plus texts, PT, and expert care were what got me thru!!

- From Google reviews


Jul 12, 2022

It was my first operation ever and it was a very positive experience from pre- to post-operation. The surgery went very well and the recovery is going per plan. Plus, a small incision. Dr. Gerlinger and staff were very friendly and helpful. Communication throughout was excellent. In fact, they use daily text messages before and after, if you elect, to send helpful tips, positive reinforcement and exercises. I found this to be very beneficial. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger and team!

- From Google reviews


Jul 11, 2022

Very professional. Daily texts were helpful and supportive. Enire staff was great

- From Google reviews


Jul 10, 2022

Had a partial knee replacement in May of this year. Everything went smoothly from the beginning of making an appointment to my last follow-up appointment. The staff was more than excellent in arranging everything so I didn’t have to worry too much about anything. Dr. Gerlingers’ daily messages felt like I was his only patient! My recovery with the partial replacement is fabulous. I would recommend to anyone that qualifies for it!

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 09, 2022

Dr Gerlinger is always professional and very good at what he does. In the last few years he has done a full knee for my wife, a hip for my brother in-law and a partial knee for both my friend and myself everyone in very happy and active. Thank you

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 20, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger was able to schedule a virtual visit for my follow up appointment since I live over 2 hours away. This was a great option to address the reason for my visit.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 17, 2022

Exceptional care from Dr. Gerlanger, the fantastic nurses and the physical therapy team!

- From Google reviews


Jun 17, 2022

I had partial knee replacements in both knees in 2020. I can't speak highly enough for Dr. Gerlinger and his staff. They were great - highly professional, friendly, and efficient. Surgeries went smoothly, and having dedicated myself to post-op physical therapy, I'm doing anything and everything I want, including strenuous hiking, pickleball, biking, and golf.

- From Google reviews


Jun 15, 2022

Dr Tad girl is my orthopedic surgeon from Rush hospital. My surgery was April 4th is now a little over 6 weeks I'm a little stiff but I feel much better than before I had the surgery. As I told the doctor I trust him my past experience wasn't always good with doctors I trust him and his team completely they're great Rush hospital was wonderful I couldn't say enough good about it and I don't say this about doctors he's terrific and so his whole team

- From Google reviews


Jun 10, 2022

Great experience and very professional service

- From Google reviews


Jun 07, 2022

Excellent surgeon and staff. Great care from beginning to post surgery with access to nurses with any question or concern. The daily text messages post surgery were greatly appreciated since they gave timely tips and advice as I progressed each day.

- From Google reviews


Jun 04, 2022

At my first visit Dr Gerlinger answered all my questions clearly. Before surgery he provided a clear explanation of what was going to happen and what I could do to ensure a successful outcome. After surgery he has supported my progress. He made me a partner in ensuring the successful outcome of my full knee replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 01, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger is amazing. He’s kind knowledgeable and professional. His staff is caring and responsive. My hip replacement surgery and recovery was perfect. He has a text messaging service, optional of course as part of recovery. It truly is helpful giving reminders and tips. Feels like you’re being cared for daily by him.

- From healthgrades.com


May 23, 2022

This is the second time I am a patient in this clinic. The whole care team, from the receptionists, the x-ray technicians, the resident physician, and Dr. Gerlinger were courteous and answered any questions I had. I have re eived a date for the operation and I have been given assurances concerning my recovery. I will go to this clinic whenever I need to and I recommend family and friends to go there as well.

- From Google reviews


May 22, 2022

Dr Gerlinger and his team made this whole process very easy from setting up all the appointments, correspondence was always answered quickly. The text messages where very helpful with letting you what you should be doing or not doing, helping with knowing what is normal for where you are in the recovery process and what might be happening in the next couple of days

- From Google reviews


May 21, 2022

Excellent. Despite complications and 5 surgeries as a result of my arthritis and osteopenia, Dr Gerlinger has enabled me to return to an active and normal life with new hips and right knee. He always explained things well and gave me great confidence in his skills and my chances for a great recovery. He is THE BEST and his staff are equally impressive.

- From healthgrades.com


May 20, 2022

It started with my first appt with Dr. Gerlinger. He and the whole staff was very kind and professional. And also very organized, which is nice to see. The ease of communication was great...whether is was an email, the patient portal, or a phone call. Nurse Kelly was great and I could call anytime. I also had some insurance questions that were handled quickly by his staff. The text messages kept me workong and progressing and gave good tips. I go im teo days for my 6 week check-up. Still a little stiffness and achy once in a while...but thats expected. My hip joint feels great. Thank you DR and Staff.

- From Google reviews


May 17, 2022

I recently ad a partial knee replacement and everything has worked out better than I expected. I put off the surgery for a couple of years, which in retrospect was a mistake. Dr. Gerlinger and his entire staff were awesome, and I recommend Dr. Gerlinger at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush highly.

- From Google reviews


May 14, 2022

Had a partial knee replacement. 2/15/22. So far the entire experience has gone better than I expected. I’ve talked to everyone I know who has had similar surgeries, some are happy some not. Dr Gerlinger’s team have been very helpful keeping me informed even when Covid postponed surgery. After one night in hospital I was home and one week later in physical therapy, I did that for six weeks and am continuing therapy at home. While knee is still healing there is no pain. Not to say there isn’t some discomfort some days, but feel progress every week. I did receive Dr Gerlinger’s texts and found them helpful and informative. I can recommend Dr Gerlinger for this type of surgery and hope to have my other knee done later this year.

- From Google reviews


May 13, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger did knee replacement surgery for my husband 3 years ago and he is still pain free. The incision healed beautifully and he has the best almost nonexistent scar I’ve ever seen on an knee replacement surgical knee. Very kind and patient doctor. The staff is great too!!

- From healthgrades.com


May 07, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger is an expertly skilled surgeon with an accomplished military background. When we were doing research about where to take my grandma for a knee replacement, his return to active combat stats (in his Rush bio) for joint replacements said it all and he’s a West Point grad too! So thankful we made the trip to Rush. She’s in her 80s but had NO complications with her wound or surgery. Her physical therapist told us that she is doing “200% better than anybody else with the same surgery” and commented it must have been due to an outstanding surgeon. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger and am thankful he gave my grandma her quality of life back! If you’re within a few hours of Chicago, make the drive to Rush, like we did, regardless of the traffic, Dr. Gerlinger’s expertise is worth it!

- From healthgrades.com


May 07, 2022

This was my second “visit” to Dr. Gerlinger. Six years ago Dr. Gerlinger performed an arthroplasty on my right hip. I will be having the same procedure on my left hip soon. My right hip is in absolutely perfect shape today, and I can’t wait for what I am absolutely confident will be the same result for my left hip.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 23, 2022

I had many questions about having my total knee replacement and Dr. Gerlinger was very informative and patient answering my questions. I felt more confident about having the procedure after speaking with him.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 16, 2022

I had a partial knee replacement with Dr. Gerlinger. EVERY interaction I had with his office, via phone or during my surgery, was best of class. Very responsive and kind office staff. Dr. Gerlinger and his fellows, take their time with you and put your mind at ease throughout the pre and post op period.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 07, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger and his entire staff were awesome and professional. I had a partial knee replacement and could not be happier with the results. I had gel injections in the past, and those are temporary solutions. I recommend Dr. Gerlinger at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush without reservation.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 14, 2022

The Colonel or aka Bruce Wayne is a great surgeon. The Doctor and his staff are very attentive as they listened to my concerns and reassured my concerns. The Colonel repaired a bowlegged man's nightmare!!! My Bone on bone issues are over after Dr Gerlinger finished my double knee replacement within six month intervals back in 2018 & 2019. So far so good, please do your physical therapy immediately after surgery. !!! I have a few minor concerns as expected with knee replacemens, but moving much better. Thanks again Dr Tad and Staff My man Bruce Wayne!!!

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 12, 2022

Went to go see Dr Tad Gerlinger at midwest orthopedics ?for the first time. I found he and his staff to be friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful in taking the time to answer all the questions that I had. If I had any concerns prior to meeting Dr. Gerlinger….After leaving my appointment I was confident that he and his staff could handle all my concerns.?

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 26, 2022

My husband had a total right knee replacement in 2021 by Dr. Gerlinger at Rush in Chicago. We couldn’t be more pleased with the surgery and how professional, kind and courteous Dr. Gerlinger was through the whole process. The physical therapy was tough, but he is improving every day. I also need a knee replacement in the future, and I will trust Dr. Gerlinger to perform my surgery. We highly recommend him as an excellent orthopedic surgeon.

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 19, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger is an excellent doctor. From my initial visit to the procedure to rehab, I have had nothing but positive interactions and amazing care

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 22, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger was able to suggest an alternative to a total knee replacement. Surgery went well, and the doctor was very reassuring during follow-up visits. He would also add a touch of humor during the appointments. I am very pleased with the care I received.

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 22, 2022

Yes he is straight forward Gave me plenty of information

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 08, 2022

Dr. Gerlinger listened, told me what to expect after surgery. He was absolutely on point. He answered all my concerns. Plus his staff is excellent, would recommend Dr Gerlinger to anyone who needs a knee replacement. Thanks again Dr Gerlinger.

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 06, 2022

In a nutshell, Dr. Gerlinger saved my leg, my ability to function normally without pain, and truly has the best interest of his patients in mind and in carrying out the actual procedures. I highly recommend him.

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 18, 2021

With the perspective of being 3 months post lateral right hip replacement, I'm delighted to share incredibly positive remarks about the experience I had with Midwest Orthopaedics, Dr. Tad Gerlinger and the support staff involved in my pre-op, intra-op, post-op and post-acute recovery. His ability to engage me as a peer healthcare professional balancing information with empathy was an so appreciated. I'd recommend Dr. Gerlinger, his staff and the Midwest Orthopaedics Group with the highest possible rating.

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 14, 2021

Dr. G is always a Blessing to me. He talks to me and ask if I understand...he keeps me lol even when I'm in pain. I would recommend anyone to him and his staff

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 11, 2021

Very professional and well run office.

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 04, 2021

Had hip replacement surgery in November 2021. Prior to surgery Dr. Gerlinger’ s office provided support materials that included links to websites about how the surgery is done, medications and after care. Recovery was surprisingly quick with physical therapy support. Within 3 weeks I was limping less than I had prior to the surgery. Much less pain than I anticipated.

- From healthgrades.com


Nov 16, 2021

Dr. Tad Gerlinger and his entire team provide an excellent service covering all aspects of having knee replacement surgery. Their communication is outstanding. There was never a time when questions or concerns went unanswered and response was always timely. His staff is knowledgeable and always willing to help. I'm very satisfied with my decision to have Dr Gerlinger perform my knee replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


Nov 13, 2021

I was very pleased with my experience with Dr. Gerlinger. He and his staff listened to my health concerns. He told me exactly what could be done and what the outcome would be. So he told me to think about what was discussed and then give him a call.

- From healthgrades.com


Nov 13, 2021

I recently had a partial knee replacement performed by Dr. Gerlinger. I cannot say enough about Dr. Gerlinger and his staff. When I first saw him I was seeking a second opinion but after meeting with him I decided he was the doctor that I wanted to operate on my knee. The entire process from my first meeting until my postop visit was perfect. Everything proceeds like clockwork in a very orderly manner. It made me feel very comfortable and confident with my decision. Also the daily texts that I received are so relevant and encouraging! I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Gerlinger to friends or relatives. My inpatient experience at Rush was also very good.

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 19, 2021

I am a returning patient with Dr. Gerlinger.. I had my complete right knee replacement with exceptional recovery over a year ago, preparing for the same on my left soon. My right knee performance has perfect mobility and pain free

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 25, 2021

I was very impressed with his thoroughness. He went over the whole procedure with me. I had a partial knee replacement on Aug. 31, 2021. The recovery is going quite well. I'm so glad my primary doctor recommended him. I would recommend him to anyone who would ask. Great doctor.

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 19, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger was recommended to me as an outstanding surgeon by close friends. He is that and more. I saw two other surgeons in Arizona, prior to making my appointment with him, and neither of them projected the confidence and expertise I encountered with him and his staff at Midwest orthopedic at Rush.Thank you to Dr. Gerlinger for the care and understanding you showed in my treatment and the skill and knowledge you brought to the task. RuthAnn

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 18, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger has done 3 out of 4 knees for my husband and myself. I highly recommend him! Four years ago he did a partial knee replacement for me, and this summer my husband had both knees done with partial knee replacements, 7 weeks apart. Dr. Gerlinger was patient, listened to our concerns, and treated us with respect. The pain management regime the office uses is excellent and the office staff is always available to answer questions or concerns. Every time I am in a conversation about knee replacements, I recommend Dr. Gerlinger. He is excellent.

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 11, 2021

I was very impressed by Dr. Gerlinger. I read his bio on the Rush website before my visit and was more impressed after I met him. He explained everything very clearly and gave me much hope for an excellent outcome. I feel honored to have him perform my surgery and I look forward to the speedy recovery he promised me.

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 31, 2021

Can’t thank Dr. Gerlinger and his staff enough! Every step of the way they answered questions, and made you feel as if you were important to them. Everything was explained thoroughly. Had my surgery July 9, 2021 and couldn’t be happier with the results!

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 29, 2021

Total knee replacement

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 21, 2021

I met with Dr Gerlinger about left knee pain. He and a colleague spent a lot of time with me explaining his recommended procedure and answering all my questions. Was very attentive and I didn’t feel rushed at all. I will be having surgery in a few months so hoping to be pain free soon after!

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 17, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger has a patient and kind demeanor. Never is rushed and gives you his full attention.

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 17, 2021

I was very impressed with Dr Gerlinger. He was warm & professional. He walked in shook my hand & examined me & explained what was wrong & how he planned to fix it. I’m so glad he’s my Dr & I will be scheduling my surgery for fall. I highly recommend him.

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 10, 2021

Dr Gerlinger did partial knee replacement surgery on both of my knees. I would totally recommend him to everyone. It is so great to be out of pain!

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 10, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger did hip replacement on my right hip in June 2020 and my left hip in August 2020-I am so thankful and happy to be living an active and pain free life once again!

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 24, 2021

My first appointment went well, Kelly, did my intake questions very thorough and attentive, kind, I never felt rushed. Dr. Gerlinger was very professional, checked out my right hip as well as knee and said hip was sound so he could proceed with knee surgery. He showed concern, and decided it would be good for me to stay overnight, Staff very pleasant even the gentleman who walked slowly with me to the room. Pleasant 1st. visit!

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 21, 2021

Everything was extremely professional from the initial analysis to the knee surgery to the recovery process. At the same time, the care was personal and all my questions were answered. My knee was quickly back to normal, and I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 06, 2021

I thought he demeanor was very professional.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 02, 2021

Im leaving a five star review for Dr. Gerlinger and his team. The best comment actually came from my daughter who described the team as a well oiled machine. My visits were thorough, my questions answered , there was a welcoming atmosphere as you entered the office. My post op requests and questions were readily answered. I’ve recommended Dr. Gerlinger to several friends who’ve asked me for referrals. Thank you Dr Tad and team!

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 02, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger was my surgeon for my knee replacement. He is so kind and informative. His nurse (Kelly) and office staff are thorough, professional and kind. They get back to me via the phone in less than an hour when I have questions. They actually invite my questions. Doctor Gerlinger is great, and I would most highly recommend him for minimally invasive total knee replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


May 10, 2021

Dr Gerlinger is the best i give him a five star rating . And all his staff very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend him to family and friends. He explains your problem and recommends what needs to be done to correct it .I recommend him to all .

- From healthgrades.com


May 03, 2021

Very nice to see a surgeon not pushing surgery. Dr. provided alternatives. Was very thorough in explaining my condition.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 24, 2021

Informative, supportive, anxiety-reducing. Multidisciplinary Team approach involvement with his axillary Surgical staff very much appreciate it. Everyone patient, professional and pleasant.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 22, 2021

Efficient, professional service. Great communication. Very satisfied.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 03, 2021

He is compassionate, knowledgeable and thorough. There is very little wait time and his staff is wonderful. They make a great team.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 27, 2021

I went to Dr. Gerlinger this week in pain and a little scared about having knee surgery. I walked out feeling totally confident that I had come to the right person and place. Dr. Gerlinger and his team were fantastic! He answered my questions clearly and told me what I needed to do to have a successful outcome. I was very pleased with not only Dr. Gerlinger but the entire operation. They were extremely efficient and very friendly.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 21, 2021

Readily available when the need arises and always shows concern and a willingness to help.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 06, 2021

I went to Dr Gerlinger to schedule a knee replacement because he performed the same on my husband with excellent results. His staff is very friendly and efficient, always calls back if I have questions. My visit in the examining room began with a Fellow, not just a nurse (Orthopedic Dr doing a fellowship - I.e. a specialized residency beyond his first residency). He was extremely thorough and answered all my questions. Dr. Gerlinger was very personable and though his visit was brief, I was satisfied my questions were all answered and I was in the hands of an excellent surgeon.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 06, 2021

Excellent doctor

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 27, 2021

Would highly recommend and very professional and knowledgeable

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 26, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger is my surgeon at Midwest Orthpaedics at Rush in Chicago. I cannot say enough wonderful things about him, his staff and his facilities! During the last six months, I had both hips replaced. His approach and skill in orthopaedics is nothing short of miraculous! His nurse Kelly is delightful and caring. Even the therapy program following surgery was targeting to my needs with the same kind of expertise as his practice. I would like to mention my therapist, Brittan Rooney, fabulous! My experience has been life changing!! Dr. Gerlinger has several satellite locations so travel into the main hospital in Chicago is not always necessary. I would definitely recommend him with a five star rating.

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 20, 2021

Extremely knowledgeable with exceptional communication skills. This combination leads to confidence in his diagnosis. It also helps that he performed a successful partial knee replacement. Excellent outcome.

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 13, 2021

My first visit meeting the doctor and his staff. Extremely friendly and very professional. I will go back for my surgery.

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 09, 2021

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are second to none in their field. From first consultation to full recovery from a complete knee replacement they were immersed in my well being. Nothing less than top shelf care. I’m very grateful for their continued support.

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 09, 2021

My first visit. Friendly, professional, and minimal waiting time.

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 19, 2020

After three hip surgeries, I can't imagine recieving better treatment! His staff is equally supportive!

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 19, 2020

Based on my visit, I have complete confidence in Dr Gerlinger and has recommendations

- From healthgrades.com


Dec 03, 2020

Excellent doctor and staff!!

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 29, 2020

Dr.Gerlinger and his staff are an outstanding medical group. I had minimally invasive total hip replacement Sept. 14 and six weeks later was released with no restrictions. He was professional and thorough. There was very little pain and felt good from beginning.

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 12, 2020

Dr Gerlinger did a total knee replacement and repaired my torn ligament. He was totally professional and made me feel confident the first visit. This was 4 years ago in September and my knee is great.

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 10, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger and his team are the most outstanding medical group I have ever encountered. Highly competent, professional, courteous and compassionate are just a few of the superlatives to describe them. Dr. Gerlinger performed a total knee replacement on me 4 weeks ago and the recovery has been so smooth, we just scheduled the other knee in 3 weeks. I am definitely looking forward to it.

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 10, 2020

I had partial right knee replacement six weeks ago and I’m able to walk up the stairs do almost all of my regular work and very little pain after surgery. Partial knee replacement was definitely the way to go. I will more than likely have it done on my left knee very shortly. The staff and everyone at the hospital was absolutely courteous and professional. I was recommended to Dr. Gerlinger by another physician That did shoulder surgery on me and couldn’t be more pleased. I suggest to everyone if you don’t need total knee replacement get partial replacement , The recovery time is much less and I’m sure less painful. I highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger and partial knee replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


Oct 10, 2020

Very professional staff. Facility is immaculate and very positive interaction from the front desk to the xray staff to the doctor. Appointments are on time. Dr Gerlinger did partial Knee replacements in both knees and I could not be happier with the results. This was done as an outpatient and I was very satisfied with the whole process. Even though I was nervous about the whole procedure I always felt I was well informed from the initial contact to the daily text messages I received through the recovery period. The texts were always motivational in nature and told me what to expect as I was going through the recovery period.

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 26, 2020

I had both knees replaced with excellent results over the past 2 months. Highly recommended. Done at Rush Medical Center, and the staff were excellent, as well.

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 25, 2020

Fantastic doctor. Have full faith in him.

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 25, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff were a pleasure to work with. I’m a Chicago firefighter and had bad degenerate arthritis in both knees. Had trouble walking up and down stairs and getting into my apparatus. Had to have both knees replaced and this young man did an amazing job. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff made the entire experience extremely easy and as painless as could be. I would recommend him to anyone. Great surgeon and fantastic staff! Like the Chicago Fire Department moto: we’re there when you need us, I can say the same about him and his staff! I would give then 10 stars!

- From healthgrades.com


Sep 07, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger is an excellent surgeon and beyond that takes the time to ensure all of your questions are answered. This was a follow-up appointment after a complete revision of my knee.

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 29, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are top notch, always concerned about the patient. Would recommend him to anyone needing a hip or knee replacement. Very honest.

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 28, 2020

Dr. Tad L. Gerlinger performed a minimally invasive total hip replacement surgery for me on June 19, 2020. From the initial visits, through the operation at Rush and the post-op visits, the experience with Dr. Gerlinger and Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush was the most professional, thorough, systematic medical procedure I have experienced. Dr. Gerlinger is truly a very competent, outstanding surgeon Patient safety, infection management, wound care, careful follow-up and rapid recovery were all excellent. Six weeks post-surgery, I was released without restrictions on my activities. As time progressed I was able to resume road cycling, tennis, and teaching fitness classes. Next year I will be doing a knee replacement with him which is his specialty . Dr Gerlinger, thank you for your great work !

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 28, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger performed a total hip replacement and this is the first time in two years that I have been able to walk without pain and the first time in a year that I have not had to use a cane. The entire team is amazing and seem to work together so well. When I ran into a problem with my incision, the problem was immediately addressed and close communication was maintained. I will be back to see De. Gerlinger when it is time for knee replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 22, 2020

Great job, cares about his patient, takes his time, does not blow you off to PA or residents!

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 22, 2020

A nice pleasant meeting. He listens to the patients and answer your questions.

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 16, 2020

Dr. Tad L. Gerlinger performed a minimally invasive total hip replacement surgery for me on June 30, 2020. From the initial visits, through the operation at Rush and the post-op visits, the experience with Dr. Gerlinger and Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush was the most professional, thorough, systematic medical procedure I have ever experienced. Dr. Gerlinger is truly an outstanding surgeon with full mastery of his craft. Patient safety, infection management, wound care, careful follow-up and rapid recovery were all excellent. Six weeks post-surgery, I was released without restrictions on my activities. I played golf the next day pain free for the first time in years. I could not be more thankful and grateful for the results!

- From healthgrades.com


Aug 01, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger did a partial replacement on both my knees in the first half of 2020. I can't say enough about the professionalism of him and his staff. End to end, it's the best medical experience I've had. I spoke to three different orthopedic doctors, and Dr. Gerlinger was the only one who suggested the partial replacement instead of the full replacement. For me, it was perfect. Knees are doing great - if you're committed to physical therapy, you'll come through it all in great shape.

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 25, 2020

He replaced .you left knee. I found him to e pleasant and positive. weeks after surgery I feel I'm doing well. It was the less invasive procedure. So far so good.

- From healthgrades.com


Jul 13, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger was great!!! I had my knee done 13 years ago and decided,at a friend's advice, to check him out. I was not disappointed. He and his staff treated me as if they knew me. I was so impressed with the service and quality of their care, I sent them flowers! He got me going again. Thanks Dr. "G"!!!!!

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 28, 2020

Right from the first visit I felt comfortable and confident with Dr Gerlinger as the surgeon for my hip replacement. His military experience was a great bonus knowing that he’s seen the worst and if he could help injured soldiers, he could certainly help me. He and his staff clearly explained their determination of the issues with my hip and gave options for me to consider for treatment. The replacement surgery went well as was the recovery. His personality is great and takes the time to be sure all of my questions were answered. His staff is friendly and professional. I never had any concerns. I will be going back to him to fix my other hip.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 27, 2020

Dr Gerlinger did total muscle sparing knee replacements on both of my knees 6 months apart...I couldn't be happier...my right knee was done in November of 2018 and my left knee was done in April of 2019...without cutting the quadriceps muscle, this procedure allowed for faster healing and a shorter incision...thank you for making a difference in my life...

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 20, 2020

I feel like I’m not just a number to Dr. Gerlinger’s practice, he truly cares about his patients and wants the best possible outcome from his procedures.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 19, 2020

First visit to assess whether knee replacement surgery is warranted. The staff was efficient, courteous, positive and competent. Dr. Gerlinger was very clear and compelling during the visit. I am confident that he is providing the best care and advice. I look forward to the surgery. BTW, Dr. Gerlinger performed left and right hip replacement surgery for my wife. The post-surgery care and guidance was terrific. Highly recommend.

- From healthgrades.com


May 18, 2020

Great staff and a wonderful doctor, that made me feel comfortable with the ideal of surgery.. got my knee replacement.. and I'm standing.. you will be in good hands at Midwest orthopedics at Rush..

- From healthgrades.com


May 16, 2020

What my friend told me about his experience with dr tad gerlinger and midwest ortho is true about knee replacements. They are the best . My recovery was fast without any problem.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 16, 2020

Seemed a little rushed. Still have questions about my procedure.

- From healthgrades.com


Apr 11, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger to my family and friends, in fact I already did. After Dr. Performing 2 total knee replacements in the last 3 months I am doing well and going back to work in a couple of days. I have to say Dr. Gerlinger's staff is very attentive and he himself very talented, kind and humble. If you or someone you know decide to have surgery done by him please make sure you sign up for his very helpful text messages he sends during your recovery.

- From vitals.com


Mar 14, 2020

Highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger, his staff, and Rush Hospital. They are professional, informed, and friendly. From beginning to end, I can not say enough about Dr. Gerlinger, his nurses and Rush Hospital. Better experience than we had hoped for.

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 14, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger changed my life. I had both of my knees replaced and I could not be happier. Every step was smooth and explained well. Both surgeries went extremely well and recover went smooth as well. Dr. Gerlinger is great. His team is great as well. Thank you

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 07, 2020

Professional staff, they were efficient and very pleasant. All paperwork was completed prior to the visit. The Dr. knew about me and my history before the visit and referred to my information during my appointment. I was hesitant to have knee replacement. I put off the decision and Dr. Geringer was my second opinion. He was calm and not an alarmist. I've changed my mind. Will get my new knee in June

- From healthgrades.com


Mar 06, 2020

Dr Gerlinger and his staff were fantastic. The text were very timely and self assuring. Sometimes it seemed like they were reading your mind. The phone calls I did make always left me feeling I was on the right track.

- From vitals.com


Mar 06, 2020

I was very impressed with Dr Dr Dr. Dr Gerlinger and his staff were always there when I needed them. The text were very timely and assuring. Sometimes it was like they were reading your mind. I called a few times and I always got the advice I needed to help me physically as well as mentally.

- From vitals.com


Feb 29, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger made me feel like I am in very competent hands as I approach my hip replacement. In addition to his skill as a surgeon, he is also very personable.

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 09, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger replaced both my knees, two months apart. They healed up amazingly quickly and PT made a huge difference. At four months after the second surgery I can walk up and down stairs, drive my stick shift car, ride my bike, work out at the gym...it really is amazing how quickly it's all happened. I am completely happy with the process too - his fantastic staff were always available for all my questions, and Dr. Gerlinger is one of the best in the business. Typical of surgeons he didn't have a lot of time to spend with me, but he always knew what questions I'd been asking and what stage of recovery I should be in, and checked to see I was - I felt he knew who and how I was all the way through. I feel very fortunate to have had such a good experience with such a big procedure!

- From healthgrades.com


Feb 08, 2020

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are top-notch. I was continually impressed with them - they always knew who I was, where I was in the process, took the time to answer any questions I had. My knees have healed up amazingly quickly - he replaced both knees two months apart. Four months after the second surgery I can do everything I want to. I am working on overall strength at the gym, I can ride my bike and drive my stick-shift car, and walk as long as I want. We are packing to move and I have no problems getting to the bottom shelves or shifting boxes. I couldn't ask for a better experience.

- From vitals.com


Jan 19, 2020

I had a knee replacement...Dr.Gerlinger provides professional care and concerns..the initial consultation with him and his professional staff eased my anxiety...they focus on explaining my questions thoroughly and the expectations to follow. Education regarding surgery and recovery is reviewed with his excellent team. Surgery day was better than I expected...outpatient....recovery has been with very little pain...healing on schedule .... his team will make numerous followup calls for questions...they are concerned. The Dr and staff run efficiently with very little wait time...typically on time....feel confident with Dr. Gerlinger’s knowledge and skills along with his team

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 17, 2020

Extremely satisfied with Dr.Gerlinger. Had a full hip replacement and very happy with his expertise and professionalism. Rush is by far the best.

- From healthgrades.com


Jan 11, 2020

Simply the best

- From healthgrades.com


December 30, 2019

Great. Dr Gerlinger was referred to me by my primary care physician, regarding osteoarthritis of my right hip. He and his colleague addressed all of my issues, and answered all of my questions to my satisfaction.

- From healthgrades.com


December 10, 2019

I had a Total Knee replacement 10/2019 at Rush University Hospital in Chicago. During the pre op classes , I was told to expect , realistically, 80% improvement . I can safely say , over 8 weeks post op, I am way over 200% improved! The care pre op, inpatient and post op exceeded my expectations! Dr Gerlinger and his team of professionals are to be commended and rank a 5++ in my opinion. Also note , I am in the healthcare profession and appreciate excellent care.

- From healthgrades.com


December 10, 2019

Dr Tad Gerlinger performed a total knee replacement for myself on 10/7 /2019. The pre op , inpatient, and post op experience was 5 Star and more. I was told in the pre op classes to realistically expect no more than an 80% improvement. I am presently 8 weeks post op and feel over 200% more stable and able to do things I was fearful to do pre op . Dr Gerlinger and his team are to be commended for their professionalism and attention to detail . The communication was excellent along with "what to expect". If you are "on the fence" , don't wait and I wish I would have had this fixed sooner !

- From Vitals.com


November 16, 2019

Dr Gerlinger is a wonderful and talented doctor. I had a hip replacement that was a little complicated. I resisted getting my hip done because of fear and back problems. I waited so long that I could hardly walk. He assured me I would be pain free. I was shocked how little pain I had the day after surgery. I did not have to take all my pain medication because I felt so much better. He is an amazing doctor and he has an amazing staff. Rush Hospital was great and the staff is wonderful. I would not hesitate to use Dr Gerlinger again for my other hip when I need it.

- From healthgrades.com


November 07, 2019

My experience with Dr. Gerlinger over all was pretty amazing. I didn’t have any expectations at all, but just knew how miserable my hip was making me at age 39 and knew it was in bad shape! It was drastically impacting my quality of life, in every area. My age seemed to scare off other doctors outside of this practice despite the condition of my hip and other bed side manner was rough to say the blast. But Dr. Gerlinger didn’t even wince about my age and had such a pleasant and kind demeanor. He was such an advocate in getting me back to living the life that I want to live. Because of him and his team, I can now play with my kids like normal, ride a bike again, get in and out of my car with out pain, get back to working out like normal, get up and down easily , do so many daily activities now PAIN FREE! I know my other hip will need one down the road and am happy to know that I have Dr. Gerlinger and his team to count on. Thank you for such a smooth and amazing experience and giving this mom and wife her life back!

- From Vitals.com


October 10, 2019

On Aug 5th I had my right knee replaced. The surgery went really well and I was up and about right away. His staff was excellent what a great team . I also appreciates Dr’s daily text it kept me motivated . I looked forward to them each day. Thank You for helping me walk again.

- From Vitals.com


July 10, 2019

After more than four months post-op for total knee replacement surgery, I am singing the praises of Dr. Tad Gerlinger and his team!

The approach to surgery began with an educational session that highlighted all aspects of the surgery, but most importantly, allowed patients in a small group setting to ask questions about pre-op procedures, the surgery itself, post-op practices and medications. Notably, a pre-op appointments were made for blood work and with physical therapy in preparation for surgery. Physical therapy focused on the use of assistive devices - crutches and cane - in anticipation of hospital discharge.

On the day of surgery, the Rush surgical team demonstrated efficiency and care, ensuring my comfort in advance of entering the surgical theater. Immediately following the surgery, Dr. Gerlinger took the time to report on my status and provide assurance to my daughter that all had gone smoothly.

This surgery experience was nothing short of miraculous! The basis of comparison was surgery seven years ago with another surgeon that was characterized by prolonged pain, anxiety and limited mobility.

Dr. Gerlinger and his team deserve a 10-star rating! I recommend Dr. Gerlinger without reservations.

- From yelp.com


June 10, 2019

Dr. Gerlinger replaced my left hip three weeks ago. The day after surgery, I was able to walk without assistance, and I only needed pain meds for the first couple days. Three weeks out, and I need to constantly remind myself to slow down and that I recently had major surgery. I would recommend this surgeon and his outstanding team of nurses to anyone needing joint replacement!

- From Vitals.com


Apr 28, 2019

Positive

- From healthgrades.com


May 05, 2019

Very professional and knowledgeable in the field of pre and post hip replacement.

- From healthgrades.com


May 05, 2019

I had total knee replacement with Dr. Gerlinger. He and his staff are beyond excellent. They do everything to insure success with your surgery. They are always there to answer all your questions. The texting system is very helpful to keep you on task with your recovery.

- From healthgrades.com


May 23, 2019

Excellent team who is very responsive to calls, questions and follow through. Surgery went well, having a good recovery. In week 5 post op and I am driving short distances, walking without assistance and swelling is almost gone. Pain comes and goes but is no longer severe.

- From healthgrades.com


Jun 08, 2019

Have had 2 hip replacements with Dr Gerlinger and have not had any problems. His whole team is very attentive and responsive. Quick recovery. Very good experience. Has always listened when I’ve had questions and addressed my concerns.

- From healthgrades.com


JUly 6, 2018

I consulted about my hip with several doctors and chose Dr. Gerlinger and his team at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush because they use the most up to date methods in joint replacement with minimal recovery times. Even though I had many options closer to home, it was well worth the hour commute with traffic. They lived up to everything and more. Communication was first rate before and after the procedure. My home physical therapist who first saw me two days after the surgery had never seen anyone do what I could do so quickly and make the progress I did over the next two weeks. I can only attribute it to the work of Dr. Gerlinger. Thank you for taking care of my hip pain and making me good as new.

- From yelp.com


Augest 3, 2018

Dr Gerlinger is an amazing surgeon and a nice guy as well. He eagerly took on my badly damaged (previously fractured) knee, which required a TKR, when other dr.s were less than enthusiastic. It was a complicated knee replacement. I cannot believe how well it went. I am barely 3 weeks post surgery and you would never know, from seeing me walk, that I had just had a TKR. The recovery has been very, very fast, with minimal pain. My range of motion is incredible already. If you need a new knee or hip or a revision, go to Dr Gerlinger. He is my hero!

- From yelp.com


November 2, 2018

Dr Gerlinger and his team have restored my physical condition to a point where all normal activities can be carried out without pain of fatigue. He and his team displayed the highest skills, knowledge and patient-centered approaches with excellent communication and interactions. Staff was always available for questions and encouragement. All processes were extremely detailed and ensured the outcomes were what was promised. I highly regard this team and my experience to restore an active life style.

- From Vitals.com


October 31, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger and his entire team deliver first rate care, from the first hip replacement consultation through the post operative follow up meetings. Highly recommended.

- From Vitals.com


October 29, 2018

We live 100 miles one way & he & his staff r so worth the trips! we would recommend them to everyone. They care, listen & advise as to what needs to be done. Love the daily text messages. They encourage, Tell u like it is & what is needed to speed ur healing & recovery! thanks dr & team! ur the best! kent & mercy smith

- From Vitals.com


September 8, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger and staff are fantastic!! I had a hip replacement surgery a little over a month ago and today I’m moving around and pain free!! Thank you Dr. Gerlinger and staff, you are the best!!

- From Vitals.com


August 12, 2018

We heard such good things about Dr. Gerlinger that we traveled out of state to receive his care. Our confidence was well placed. After reviewing my history and test results, he recommended partial knee replacement. The preparation, surgery and recovery went seamlessly. I experienced very minimal discomfort and with the help of his daily text messages, I felt encouraged and supported throughout my recovery. Dr Gerlinger and his staff are top notch!!!

- From Vitals.com


July 29, 2018

I was told 26 years ago that I needed my right hip relaced, but fear kept me from doing it. After years of excessive Nsaid use I had to have a large ulcer surgically repaired. From my first meeting with Dr. G. I felt I was in the best hands. Dr. G is the most organized Dr. I've ever had. Before surgery he and his staff took the time to explain the entire procedure and what o expect before,during and after surgery. With his CareTxt you feel that he and his staff were along your side during recovery. I am having my left hip replaced next week and have concerns whatever. My thanks to Dr. Gerlinger and his Kate.

I cannot say enough good things about this dr. And he is a very nice guy to boot.

- From Vitals.com


July 25, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff run a tight ship from start to completion regarding hip replacements of which I just recently had my second in the past 9 months. The process is flawless and my confidence in the outcome has been confirmed. Dr. Gerlinger’s great bedside manner and mild demeanor is a wonderful attribute. I would totally recommend Dr. Gerlinger and Rush Medical Center for orthopaedic surgery. My husband has had two shoulder replacements with Dr. Nicholson and hip replacement in Oct.

-Karen R in Bartlett


July 21, 2018

Thee best Appointment ever. I've been trying to figure out for a few years now why I was having so much pain in my knees and now I know thanks to Dr. Feeling. I am forever grateful to him for helping me out if you're having joint issues go to him trust me you'll feel better when you leave the office.

-Anna B in Chicago, IL


July 21, 2018

Amazing surgeon. Answered all my questions prior to surgery. Made me feel like I mattered.

-Charles in IL


July 17, 2018

This is the second hip I’ve had Dr Gerlinger replace. The first was 2.5 years ago and I was doing so much better. Knew my left would be coming and had that done just 6 weeks ago. Everything has changed so much. Much less pain. Feel so much stronger! I feel like I have a new life. Especially like the daily text messages encouraging you through the process. You feel like he’s right there cheering you on. Great idea. Thank you.

- From Vitals.com


June 23, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger in my opinion is the most gifted, experienced, humble surgeon/person I have ever met outside my social orbit. Dr. G. rejuvenated, repaired and skillfully reconstructed my hips and knees. Do you have a favorite restaurant that you love; is consistently satisfying, professionally staffed with efficient, friendly, kind and knowledgeable people? MO@Rush is all that! In The Chi U would be doing yourselves a disservice if one did not arrange a consultation with Dr G. It's on U!

- Peter in The Chicago, IL


June 17, 2018

Dr Gerlinger did my knee replacement in May of 2018. I had a previously shattered my tibia into 11 pieces. I had a plate and 10 screws. After 7 years I was bone on bone. Dr Gerlinger was able to remove a few of my screws and do my knee replacement. ( I was told by doctor in my hometown, that it would take 2 surgeries. That means two recoveries.). Dr Gerlinger was able to work around the majority of my hardware, without removing it all. It’s been 7 weeks since my replacement. My recovery was extremely quick. I was able to return to work in 2 weeks, but I could have been back to my profession within a week. I now walk 5 miles a day, and go to the gym. Dr Gerlinger has been successful in helping me return to a full and normal lifestyle.

- From Vitals.com


June 10, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger performed hip replacement surgery on me in April 2017. I was extremely satisfied with the results of the surgery, and was impressed by Dr. Gerlinger’s surgical skill and care. His team was available for me if I had any questions or needed assistance,especially his nurse, who helped me on more than a couple occasions. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger and his team.

- Bernadette in Chicago, IL


June 8, 2018

I have had both knees replaced in the last year and a half. I received great care both by Dr Gerlinger and the staff at RUSH. I am more than happy to have chosen RUSH and Dr Gerlinger.

- Alice in IL


June 8, 2018

I had my right hip replaced by Dr. Gerlinger three weeks ago and could not be more pleased. I had visited several doctors and selected Dr. Gerlinger as he and his team at Rush are cutting edge in orthopedics and their surgical procedures. After the procedure, I was home the next day with minimal discomfort and walking on my own within just few days. My home physical therapist could not believe how quickly I was able to do things and I am no athlete. At three weeks I am almost good as new.

- Steve in Northbrook, IL


June 7, 2018

After getting multiple opinions on my hip, I chose Dr. Gerlinger and his team at Rush as they are at the cutting edge in orthopedic joint replacement. I could not be more pleased with my decision. I was fully informed prior to and after surgery by the Dr, his nurse Kate and everyone involved. Call backs and email responses to questions were very prompt. Their automatic text program with encouragement and suggestions before and after is great. With the Dr.'s surgical approach, recovery is quicker than I could have imagined. I was walking without aid when I got home the day after surgery. My home physical therapist could not believe how quickly I was able to progress as I was her first patient that used Dr. Gerlinger. Plus, there was very little pain during recovery. I had many more convenient choices for Doctors and hospitals as I live in the Northern Suburbs of Chicago, but I don't regret for one minute choosing the one hour drive and traffic each way to get to Midwest Orthopedics at Rush to have Dr. Gerlinger and his team take care of my hip replacement.

- From Vitals.com


May 20, 2018

First time I met Dr Gerlinger and his nurse and following employee that are staff there they were all like family they treat me very nice and help as much as possible. Dr. Gerlinger explain procedure and help me understand my situation . I would not hesitate to referred anyone to see him and staff

- Alfredo Jr in IL


May 18 2018

I had total replacement of both knees in the past year and my experience with Dr. Gerlinger and his team could not have been more positive. The team was excellent through the whole process from preparing for the surgery, day of the surgery, and recovery and rehab. Always very efficient and demonstrated great concern for my experience throughout the entire process. If I ever had questions or concerns, my inquiries were addressed quickly and completely.

- Paul V in Park Ridge, IL


May 18, 2018

Over the past year, I had total knee replacement of both knees by Dr. Gerlinger. My experience with Dr. Gerlinger and his team was entirely positive. Team is efficient through all phases from learning about the process, pre-surgery prep, day of surgery, recovery and rehab.

- From Vitals.com


May 6, 2018

Dr. Tad Gerlinger and his staff at Rush Medical Center did excellent job with full knee replacement surgeries on both my knees. I chose to schedule my 2nd knee surgery 11 weeks after the first knee surgery. His regiment of pain killer drugs kept the pain at reasonable level. His nursing/ communication staff with patients is remarkably efficient. Dr Gerlinger is the best and I highly recommend him.

- Jotwani in Hoffman estates, IL


May 6, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger was professional, approachable, and attentive. This was my second hip replacement and the first with Dr. Gerlinger. I cannot be more pleased with the whole experience. I walked out of the hospital the next day without a cane (and with no pain). The entire staff was excellent in every way.

- From Vitals.com


May 5, 2018

I considered a number of other providers for my hip replacement. Based on the recommendations I received I anticipated The outcome to be very good. The results exceeded my expectations and I was able to promptly resume my normal activities and was remarkably pain free throughout the entire process. In addition all staff members were extremely helpful and took the time to answer all my questions and concerns.

- Joe M in Elmhurst, IL


May 4, 2018

What a Stud!!! Changed my life.. was in complete pain everyday. From taking a shower to sleeping, let alone walking any sort of distance. Had & Have complete faith in Dr. Gerlinger, I can not thank him enough. Don't waste your time with anyone else Dr Gerlinger is the man.

- Mark C in Chciago, IL


April 14, 2018

This was my second hip revision in two years and the previous doctor said nothing was wrong and everything looked good and the pain must be coming from someplace else. With that, I did my research to find the best hip revision doctor in the United States and found Dr. Gerlinger. I got right in and he showed me on the X-rays where the prosthesis was loosening. I am six weeks post op and coming along very nicely and this new prosthesis feels strong. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger.

- Jeff in Hawthorn Woods, IL


April 8, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger explains everything carefully and thoroughly. The post-op text messages are very helpful and encouraging, especially on difficult days during my recovery

- From Vitals.com


March 24, 2018

Wish i did the surgery sooner, I'm pain free now I have already recommended Dr Gerlinger

- Eileen D in Evergreen Park


March 24, 2018

This was my third knee operation and my first time seeing Dr. Gerlinger. His operation was successful, & I’ve had the best results compared to the other total knee replacement that I’ve had. I’m also very pleased with his personal attention to me and making me feel comfortable throughout the entire process. If you need a knee replacement, this is certainly the best place to go. Thank you so much.

- Anita in Hanover Park, Illinois


March 23, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger is the best surgeon. This is my second hip replacement. I found Dr. G to be very professional and always kept me well informed of procedure processes. His exceptional staff, especially nurse Kate have always been available to answer my questions whenever I called. Dr. G,s daily text messages have been extremely beneficial . I felt that Dr. G was with me daily coaching me on how to progress with my recovery .

- From Vitals.com


Mar 09, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger performed a spectacular total knee replacement on Monday. Tuesday afternoon I was on my way home. In-home therapy started Wednesday. I was back at work the second week. By the 3rd week my in-home therapy was finished. I was told that I don't have to take outpatient therapy as I am already beyond what would be required to conclude the therapy. The combination of Dr. Gerlinger, his team and in-house Therapist Helen Soderberg. I wish to Thank Dr. Gerlinger & Helen for a Job well done!


Mar 09, 2018

If you need a knee replacement or revision, this is your dr. I had a complicated total knee replacement with Dr Gerlinger barely 3 weeks ago. I cannot believe how quickly I am returning to my former state of active, good health and mobility. It is no exaggeration to say that Dr Gerlinger has given me my life back, after a year of pain and limited mobility due to a complex tibial plateau fracture that never healed correctly. I would not see any other orthopedic dr for hip or knee replacement.

-Janet H in Chicago


Mar 09, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger gave me my life back. After enduring 3 prior surgeries with different dr.s for a very bad traumatic injury fracture, I was told I needed a knee replacement. The operation would be complicated, given damage. But literally the day after surgery with dr Gerlinger, I was walking well; minimal discomfort (esp compared to what I had been through).

I cannot say enough good things about this dr. And he is a very nice guy to boot.

-Janet H


March 08, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger performed a spectacular total knee replacement on Monday. Tuesday afternoon I was on my way home. In-home therapy started Wednesday. I was back at work the second week. By the 3rd week my in-home therapy was finished. I was told that I don't have to take outpatient therapy as I am already beyond what would be required to conclude therapy. Dr. Gerlinger, his team, RUSH Hospital and in-house Therapist Helen Soderberg is a winning combination. I wish to Thank Dr. Gerlinger & Helen for a Job well done! THANKS!

- From Vitals.com


March 08, 2018

I had a badly damaged knee/tibia from a prior complex tibial plateau fracture. I needed a new knee. Other knee replacement surgeons were less than enthusiastic about tackling this problem. Dr Gerlinger eagerly took me on. He told me he could fix it, and he did, magnificently. I am barely 3 weeks post total knee replacement surgery, and I am a new person. Functionality is back, recovery has been fast with minimal pain. Dr Gerlinger is a Godsend. You can trust this man. I wouldn't see anyone else for a knee or hip replacement or revision. He specializes in complex cases and he is a wizard. He is also a very nice guy. As dr.s go, he is the best thing to have ever happened to me.

- From Vitals.com


March 03, 2018

I would recommend Dr. Gerlinger and his staff to anyone. My knee replacements and recovery have been a complete success. I loved the daily text messages. They gave me confidence and assurance that I was progressing normally. I addition to my knee replacements, Dr. Gerlinger, his staff and the staff at Rush hospital identified a sodium imbalance I had after surgery which averted any serious neurological damage. I am confident that I chose the right doctor and the right hospital!!!

- From Vitals.com


Feb 13, 2018

I had hip surgery January 22 2018.. I had this pain for 2 years .. my kids finally pushed me to go .. I researched by my friends and family who tohave my surgern.. Dr Tad Gerlinger was the perfect choice. He explain very carefully and his team was fantastic.. I was in the hospital overnite and started physical therapy the next day . By day 4 I was crying becuz I could not feel the pain I had before. Physical therapy is the key to getting back to you r regular self ..

- Elizabeth C in Crown Point In


Feb 13, 2018

Having Dr. Gerlinger replace my knee is one of the best decisions I've ever made. I woke up from surgery with ZERO pain, went home the next day - walking unassisted. 5 weeks after surgery I walked 5 miles enjoying a winter weekend in MI - with no pain. I've met my first goal - to be able to walk again!

- TL in Illinois


Feb 12, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger is amazing! I was able to walk unassisted the same day as surgery - with absolutely no pain. Best doctor ever!

- From Vitals.com


Jan 24, 2018

Hip surgery is relatively easy in terms of recovery and pain level compared to other surgeries. I went from fairly disabled to able to resume all activities including athletics in six weeks. No one should delay this surgery if they need it. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff provide excellent care from the beginning to the end of the process.

- From Vitals.com


Dec 16, 2018

Dr. Gerlinger, his staff, and text messaging service was on point from my first appointment!

- From Vitals.com


Sep 14, 2017

I am a firefighter and participate in numerous sports and activities.

I would like to thank Dr. Gerlinger and his staff at Rush for their dedication to helping people get their lives back. The arthritis in my knees prevented me doing doing the things I enjoyed most and I was no longer able to run and play sports with my young children. My wife and I decided it was time to fix the problem so we reached out to the staff at Rush. We chose Dr. Gerlinger because of his experience in the military helping soldiers return to work after knee and hip replacements. After talking to him I was confident that I would be able to return to my job as a firefighter and run with my children. It has been four months (the knees were repaired six weeks apart) and the recovery is going very well. I will be back to work soon and my children are counting the days until we can race again. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff gave me my legs back and I will be forever grateful.

-Darren B


Oct 26, 2017

Regan

That dot in red is me hiking in West Cork, Ireland in August. I was there for a month and hiked everyday that it wasn’t raining.

Very grateful for my new knees.

-Regan B


Sep 14, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger is the best, he did a revision on a knee that wasn't healing correctly that my first surgeon had wased his hands of. I was walking better in 4 months after second surgery than 2 years after the first.

His staff is first rate. Alissa always responds quickly even on nights and weekends. Highly recommend him and Rush hospital for your replacement surgery.

-Philip W


Sep 07, 2017

My knee surgery was complicated -- a knee revision and then a bone graft to save my tibia, which had a large hole in it. Dr. Gerlinger was honest with me about the surgery since he wouldn't be able to say exactly what had to be done until he was operating. It was possible that the tibia would not stay together during the graft and insertion of a long rod. Because of Dr. Gerlinger's skill and careful surgical technique, I am walking and have my life back again. What an exceptional surgeon!

-Susan Z in Sycamore, IL


Aug 18, 2017

I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger for hip replacement surgery. My surgery was pain free with a quick rehabiliation. I have nothing but high praise for his competence.

-Walter C in Ft Wayne, IN


Aug 05, 2017

I'm 3 weeks post-op and feeling pretty awesome. The entire experience from pre-op to yesterday's check-up have been great, totally professional. If you're having hip surgery, Dr. G. is the man to see.

-HB in Chicago, IL


Aug 03, 2017

I had my right hip replaced on June 22, 2017 and the entire team of Dr Gerlinger was as professional and pleasant as you can be. From the first visit for evaluation to my 6 week post op visit the entire team at Rush was a delight to experience and get to know. Everyone was outstanding from every aspect. I would highly recommend them and have already to a good friend of mine. Thank you to Doctor G, Alissa and the entire team. You guys are the best of the best. Well done.

-Tom B in Chicago, IL


Jul 16, 2017

Total hip replacement went as smooth as silk. Dr Gerlinger and staff run as smooth as clockwork. I'll be coming back for the other hip and knees when they're ready. No question.

-Mike M in Herscher, IL


Jun 08, 2017

With Dr. Gerlinger's encouragement, I had total hip replacement surgery at 50. I can return to an active lifestyle (skiing, golf, hockey) at a time in my life when I can still enjoy these activities. Glad I didn't wait until I was more "age appropriate" for this procedure. Recovery from surgery has been a breeze. Never used crutches or cane after day one. PT begins immediately. Out of work for only one week, off pain meds within two weeks, return to normal activities within six weeks.

-Andy in Chicago, IL


May 18, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his entire team were skilled, professional, patient, and caring throughout my entire left hip replacement experience. I was always provided with personal and prompt attention to my concerns. I highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger. You won't be sorry. I'm grateful.

-Bernadette I in Chicago, IL


May 12, 2017

I am 45 years old and have had 7 surgeries on my right knee! I have seen my fair share of Orthopedic Surgeons and Dr. Gerlinger is by far one of the most skilled caring doctors I have encountered in a very long time! I had my knee replaced last year and went in for my year check up. The care I received from Dr. Gerlinger and his team was beyond Exceptional!!!!!!

-San Jose, CA


May 06, 2017

2 hip replacements w/in 6 weeks. easy bike riding and dirt road walking 6 weeks after 2nd. all good.

-Las Vegas, NV


May 03, 2017

Hello my is Marisela Kennedy and my experience with Dr. Gerlinger was awesome. I had surgery on my left hip, last December. Prior to the surgery, I was in horrible pain,in my hip due to arthritis. My pain affected work,and all activities. One month after the surgery I was walking without pain. I went back to work 2 months after the surgery. I never imagined that I would be pain free. I'm So thankful and blessed that Dr Berlinger performed the surgery.The whole experience was beautiful. God Bless

-Marisela K in Oak lawn Illinois


Apr 28, 2017

Excellent doctor! Partial knee replacement, no pain, fast recovery! Doing all my activities after 3 1/2 weeks with no pain, stiffness or limp!! Great staff. Would recommend Dr. Gerlinger to everyone!!

-Lisle, IL


Apr 13, 2017

A really nice caring doctor. He was there for my wife.

-Arlene F in New Buffalo, MI


Mar 16, 2017

I've had three full knee replacements, two more to change a liner in my knee, dr gerlinger just changed the lower portion of my knee replacement so he did a revision .he is very good at what he does and I would not want another doctor .i.ve been going to these doctors for about 17 years and now that I have dr gerlinger ,he is the best at all he does but for my revision he did tremendous. great doctor that cares

-Larry F in wheatfield, IN


Mar 06, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his team could not be better!! I have researched & visited 3 other Orthopedic Facilities and by far Rush & Dr. G & Team treated me with the utmost respect & expertise. From my 1st consult through post knee replacement surgery I was given explicit answers to all questions that I asked over & over. Their kindness & understanding of my fears & how well I was treated before & after surgery was incredible. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. G for his extreme expertise as a surgeon!! THX U

-Crystal Lake, IL


Mar 02, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger performed both of my total knee replacements about a year apart. Before having this done, I could barely walk due to severe arthritis. Today, I am pain free and have two very straight legs and can bend and flex my knees as never before. Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are very personable yet very professional. His assistant, Kate, explained the surgery in depth so that I would be comfortable with what was to be performed. The entire staff at Rush Medical Center were great as well.

-Vickie W in Riverdale, IL


Feb 27, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff are the best. I had a difficult situation and couldn't be more happy with my total knee replacement!!!

-Marianne in Palos Park


Feb 25, 2017

Dr Gerlinger performed a complete knee replacement on my left knee 6 weeks ago. The incision was minimal and the recovery has been much faster than the recovery I experienced on my right knee replacement six years ago. I was walking without any assistive devices within 2 weeks and no limp after 3 weeks. At the 5-6 week mark of PT I could bend the knee 120 degrees. Dr Gerlinger's staff was completely accessible, professional and courteous throughout the entire experience.

-Tom H in Burr Ridge, IL


Feb 08, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff were fantastic. I was in need of a new left knee and even though I'm a Michigan resident, I decided to stay with Midwest Ortho who in turn put me in contact with Dr. Gerlinger. We discussed options and quickly came to the conclusion that it was time for a new knee after years of surgeries, shots, etc. He studied the nuances of my case and did an oustanding job. He's accessible and explains everything. His staff is absolutely first class as well!!

-Ed H in Marcellus, M


Feb 08, 2017

I can't say enough good about my experience with Dr. Gerlinger and his staff. I was a reluctant patient; hoping that the pain in my hip would eventually go away, and heal itself. He offered council and a logic explanation that my hip wasn't going to miraculously correct itself. His demeanor was very respectful and matter of fact; of which, exactly what I needed to finally pull the trigger and get my life back.

-Downers G , IL


Feb 02, 2017

I had a very good experience with Dr. Gerlinger. I'd highly recommend him.

-St John, IN


Jan 16, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his staff at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush are top notch. I was quite concerned about having any form of surgery. Regardless, with quality of life being my strongest motivating desire the explanations presented to me about my condition assured me I was in good hands. I am so glad to have found Dr. Gerlinger and his staff.

-RCTwo in St Charles, IL


Jan 12, 2017

Dr. Gerlinger and his team are outstanding. From my initial visit to my year follow-up appointment after having total hip replacement surgery was nothing less than efficient, professional, painless, and overall a great experience. His team is professional, knowledgeable, responsive, and pretty much an extension of Dr. G, Kate his head nurse is phenomenal. Rush was amazing, and the overall experience was flawless. The team approach is wonderful. His team is topnotch. Thank you!!!

-Maria T in Chicago, IL


Dec 28, 2016

Dr Gerlinger accepted my complicated knee surgery when 2 other surgeons would not. He is so caring and patient and far exceeded even my most hopeful expectations. He has an amazing staff, in particular Kate who helped me with all my paperwork and always followed up the same day. I have had several surgeries in the past, but never had the follow up that Dr Gerlinger and his team provides. I received so many texts answering questions and offering encouragement. I highly recommend!

-Mary E B in Woodridge


Dec 22, 2016

The best: compassionate, caring professional whose staff made it possible for me to get the hip replacement sooner than anticipated.

-Chicago, IL


Sep 15, 2016

A top surgeon in the Chicagoland area. Dr. Gerlinger lays out all the options to you and its your choice. He will give his recommendation. Extremely satisfied with Dr. Gerlinger and his fantastic staff. Keep up the good work.

-Glenn H in Dyer, IN


Aug 20, 2016

After two failed hip replacements, I called Dr. Gerlinger for an appointment. From the very beginning his whole staff was friendly, courteous, and first rate. He spent the time and reviewed my case thoroughly and let me know what to expect from the surgery. After three weeks, I'm ready to throw that walker away. Thank you Dr. Gerlinger and your staff

- SM in Valparaiso, IN


Aug 18, 2016

I received excellent from a highly skilled surgeon.

- MN. in Chicago, IL


Aug 03, 2016

Dr Gerlinger did my hip replacement 4 weeks ago. I found Dr. Gerlinger and his staff very genuine and caring. I was able to go home the day of my surgery and sleep in my own bed. Everything is going great. I would highly recommend Dr. Gerlinger. I have more surgeries to come and I know who my surgeon will be.

- JO in Chicago, IL


Jul 22, 2016

Great surgeon. The job he did on my knee replacement was excellent. I left the hospital the next day, and didn't need crutches after 3 days. After 6 weeks, I have all normal movements with no pain.

- RW in Chicago, IL


Jul 22, 2016

Excellent staff....excellent surgeon....excellent courtesy!

- CF in Frankfort, IL


Jul 12, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger is a great surgeon. I am writing this review 8 weeks post surgery. I have almost no scar and my knee is healing well after total knee replacement surgery. Expect that you will be stiff and need to exercise your knee for 6 months to a year. I would recommend Dr. Gerlinger to anyone considering this surgery. The rest of the staff and hospital (Rush) were great. A bit of advise: research physical therapy.

- LP in Berwyn, IL


Jul 08, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger is the best at what he does. I would not trust anyone else. Had 2 knee replacements this year, one in January and one in May. The results are amazing! Last year I couldn't walk a block, and now after just six weeks of the surgery I'm walking miles! My only regret, I should have done it years ago!

- PI in Steger, IL


Dr. Gerlinger did my Total Knee Replacement 7 weeks ago. I am only 45 years old and have had many issues and 6 other surgeries on my knee. Dr. Gerlinger was professional, Caring and has a great bed side manner. At 7 weeks I am back to normal activities and I'm very grateful that I chose him as my doctor.

Jun 24, 2016

- CM in Lake Villa, IL


Jun 03, 2016

He was patient and kind, soft spoken and answered all my preop questions. Made me feel like I was part of the Rush family. The Rush team was just awesome and everything he told me I would be able to do WITHOUT PAIN was spot on. Loved the text messages daily during rehab just to give positive enforcement at home with the PT. Can't wait to see where I will be in 12 weeks post op, back to gardening, tying my gym shoes and walking without a limp. Thanks so much for the new hip. I recommend.

- KL in Palos Heights, IL


May 25, 2016

I could not be more satisfied with my experience and outcome of my hip replacement surgery performed by Dr. Gerlinger.

- T in Illinois


May 19, 2016

Dr. Gerlinger was attentive and thorough in answering all my questions without rushing me. I was in a great deal of pain before having a total hip replacement surgery performed by Dr. Gerlinger. Now, six weeks post surgery, I can walk pain free and no limp. I feel the quality of my life will be greatly improved by this surgery and I am very grateful to Dr. Gerlinger for giving me back my mobility.

- LG in Chicago, IL


Apr 22, 2016

No outcome can be completely guaranteed but what he said is exactly what happened and I'm completely satisfied. If I had to have a hip replacement again Dr. Gerlinger you're my only choice.

- CW in Bellwood, IL


Mar 14, 2016

This is feedback of highest praise for Dr. Gerlinger and his team at Rush Hospital in Chicago! My experience from preop to at home therapy was well coordinated throughout the process with excellent results for me.. Kudos to Dr. Gerllinger! Thank you!

- JT in Chicago, Il


Feb 10, 2016

Great hip replacement experience! I'm 64 and I thought about going to a rehab facility because we have a number of stairs and I didn't think my husband could handle taking care of me. Dr Gerlinger said, hips just work - if you can do stairs before surgery, you can do stairs when you go home. I found it hard to believe, but he was right! No problems. Quick recovery. Low pain level. Much different experience than my younger brother who had a different Doctor. I would highly recommend him.

- D in Chicago, IL


Vitals.com - Patient Comments